Skip to content
Tommy Smith


Tommy Smith "Karma"
Tommy Smith "Karma"

Hailed on arrival by critics as the toughest and most creative group of his career, Tommy Smith’s KARMA sees the brilliant Scottish saxophonist lead a band of virtuosic musicians on a deeply grooving acid jazz adventure that draws on influences from around the world.

featuring Tommy Smith (saxes, shakuhatchi, synth), Kevin Glasgow (electric bass), Steve Hamilton (piano, synth), Alyn Cosker (drums)

  1. Cause And Effect
  2. Land Of Heroes
  3. Good Deed
  4. Body And Soul
  5. Tomorrow
  6. Karma
  7. Star
  8. Projection
  9. Sun
  10. Who Are You
[audio:|titles=Body Or Soul]

Comprising Smith on tenor and soprano saxophones and Shakuhachi flute, mega-talented pianist and keyboardist Steve Hamilton, six string bass guitar sensation Kevin Glasgow and jet-powered drummer Alyn Cosker, KARMA presents music of gobsmacking energy and superb inventiveness. Writing for these musicians has given Smith a new edge. KARMA’S ten brand new compositions, while acknowledging past masters including Weather Report and Jan Garbarek, drive forward concisely and urgently into the urban club culture of the current age with occasional pauses in a chill-out zone that evokes Smith’s native Scottish landscapes, Japanese meditation rites, Indian rhythms, Arabic tones and Irish sentimentality.