Skip to content
Tommy Smith


Smith 1st recording on Spartacus

Tommy Smith – Tenor Saxophone
Kenny Barron – Piano
James Genus – Bass
Clarence Penn – Drums

CD of the Week, Observer

recorded live to 2-track analog tape by james farber
at clinton studios, new york city – 27 september 2000
assisted by keith shortreed
original photographs of tommy by paul thorburn
design & ‘metropolis’ photographs by john haxby
produced by tommy smith

Categories: , Tags: , ,

More Information

  1. The Peacocks
  2. I Want To Be Happy
  3. Emily
  4. Bye Bye Blackbird
  5. It Never Changed My Mind
  6. The Lady Is A Tramp
  7. When I’m All Alone
  8. Spartacus
  9. I Loves You Porgy

This beautifully recorded acoustic jazz record was made at Clinton Studios in New York City on 27th Spetember 2002. The technique of recording direct to 2-track analogue is used by many jazz musicians as it captures the performance, in the moment, and also adds a natural warm lushish sound to the recording; as you would hear it acoustically. James Farber, New York’s most famous recording engineer, becomes a member of the band as he has to mix in real time, as the music is played.
John Fordham – The Guardian, 2001

SPARTACUS RECORDS was established in 2000 by Tommy Smith after recording a succession of solo recording from 1983 to 1999 with various Independents labels recording Giant Strides, Taking off, The Berklee Tapes, Progressions, Blue Note Records; Step By Step, Peeping Tom, Standards, Paris and Linn Records; Reminiscence, Misty Morning & No Time, Azure, Beasts of Scotland, Sound of Love, Blue Smith and Gymnopédie.

The recordings in the Spartacus catalogue feature many great musicians including Kurt Elling, Mike Stern, Randy Brecker, David Liebman, Joe Locke, Bill Evans, Scottish National Jazz Orchestra, Kenny Barron, Joe Lovano, John Scofield, John Taylor, Bobby Wellins, John Patitucci, James Genus, Peter Washington, Billy Drummond, Gareth Williams, Brian Kellock, Ingrid Jensen, Bill Stewart, Steve Hamilton, Orlando Le Fleming, Sebastiaan De Krom, Calum Gourlay, Pete Johnstone, Kevin Glasgow, Alyn Cosker, Donny McCaslin, David Kikoski, Joel Frahm, Michael Dease, Kevin Glasgow, Clarence Penn, Aidan O’Donnell, Groven Myhren, The Tommy Smith Youth Jazz Orchestra and legendary poet Edwin Morgan.


  • The Peacocks -
  • I Want To Be Happy -
  • Emily -
  • Bye Bye Blackbird -
  • It Never Entered My Mind -
  • The Lady Is A Tramp -
  • When I'm All Alone -
  • Spartacus -
  • I Loves You Porgy -
Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.